Share this page on following platforms.
Download Bhagwad Gita 7.16 Download BG 7.16 as Image

⮪ BG 7.15 Bhagwad Gita Shri Vaishnava Sampradaya BG 7.17⮫

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 7 Verse 16

भगवद् गीता अध्याय 7 श्लोक 16

चतुर्विधा भजन्ते मां जनाः सुकृतिनोऽर्जुन।
आर्तो जिज्ञासुरर्थार्थी ज्ञानी च भरतर्षभ।।7.16।।

हिंदी अनुवाद - स्वामी रामसुख दास जी ( भगवद् गीता 7.16)

।।7.16।।हे भरतवंशियोंमें श्रेष्ठ अर्जुन पवित्र कर्म करनेवाले अर्थार्थी आर्त जिज्ञासु और ज्ञानी अर्थात् प्रेमी ये चार प्रकारके मनुष्य मेरा भजन करते हैं अर्थात् मेरे शरण होते हैं।

Shri Vaishnava Sampradaya - Commentary

Only humans who are sukritino meaning righteous and virtuous surrender to the Supreme Lord Krishna becoming exclusively devoted to Him. Such humans are of four classes distinguished by their different grades of virtue. In the order they are given each succeeding class is more superior to the preceding one due to being more elevated and exalted making it more meritorious. The four are: artto are those impoverished and distressed after losing all wealth and power and desires to have the Supreme Lord recover it for them and re- instate it. atharthi are those who having never enjoyed power and fortune desire the Supreme Lord to give them the ability to acquire them. jijnasur are the seekers of self-realisation who are anxious to know the atma or soul in its state separate from matter for the benefit of escaping transmigration the cycle of birth and death and pray to the Supreme Lord for the benediction to discover this. jnani are the seekers of knowledge concerning the Supreme Lord who realise that the atma is essentially characterised by its being an eternal ingredient of the Supreme Lord residing within all embodied beings. Such a one considers the Supreme Lord as their goal of life and attainment of Him the fulfilment of all ambitions.