Share this page on following platforms.
Download Bhagwad Gita 5.27 Download BG 5.27 as Image

⮪ BG 5.26 Bhagwad Gita Swami Sivananda BG 5.28⮫

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 5 Verse 27

भगवद् गीता अध्याय 5 श्लोक 27

स्पर्शान्कृत्वा बहिर्बाह्यांश्चक्षुश्चैवान्तरे भ्रुवोः।
प्राणापानौ समौ कृत्वा नासाभ्यन्तरचारिणौ।।5.27।।

English Translation - Swami Sivananda

5.27 Shutting out (all) external contacts and fixing the gaze between the eyrow, ealising the outgoing and incoming breaths moving within the nostrils.

English Commentary - Swami Sivananda

5.27 स्पर्शान् contacts? कृत्वा बहिः shutting out? बाह्यान् external? चक्षुः eye (gaze)? च and? एव even? अन्तरे in the middle? भ्रुवोः of the (two) eyrows? प्राणापानौ the outgoing and incoming breaths? समौ eal? कृत्वा having made? नासाभ्यन्तरचारिणौ moving inside the nostrils.Commentary The verses 27 and 28 deal with the Yoga of meditation (Dhyana). External objects or contacts are the sound and the other senseobjects. If the mind does not think of the external objects they are shut out from the mind. The senses are the doors or avenues through which sound and the other senseobjects enter the mind.If you fix the gaze between the eyrows the eyalls remain fixed and steady. Rhythmical breathing is described here. You will have to make the breath rhythmical. The mind becomes steady when the breath becomes rhythmical. When the breath becomes rhythmical there is perfect harmony in the mind and the whole system. (Cf.VI.10?14VIII.10)

Transliteration Bhagavad Gita 5.27

Sparsaan kritwaa bahir baahyaamschakshus chaivaantare bhruvoh; Praanaapaanau samau kritwaa naasaabhyantara chaarinau.

Word Meanings Bhagavad Gita 5.27

sparśhān—contacts (through senses); kṛitvā—keeping; bahiḥ—outside; bāhyān—external; chakṣhuḥ—eyes; cha—and; eva—certainly; antare—between; bhruvoḥ—of the eyebrows; prāṇa-apānau—the outgoing and incoming breaths; samau—equal; kṛitvā—keeping; nāsa-abhyantara—within the nostrils; chāriṇau—moving; yata—controlled; indriya—senses; manaḥ—mind; buddhiḥ—intellect; muniḥ—the sage; mokṣha—liberation; parāyaṇaḥ—dedicated; vigata—free; ichchhā—desires; bhaya—fear; krodhaḥ—anger; yaḥ—who; sadā—always; muktaḥ—liberated; eva—certainly; saḥ—that person