Download Bhagwad Gita 16.3 Download BG 16.3 as Image

⮪ BG 16.2 Bhagwad Gita Ramanuja BG 16.4⮫

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 16 Verse 3

भगवद् गीता अध्याय 16 श्लोक 3

तेजः क्षमा धृतिः शौचमद्रोहो नातिमानिता।
भवन्ति सम्पदं दैवीमभिजातस्य भारत।।16.3।।

English Translation - Swami Gambirananda

16.3 Vigour, forgiveness, fortitude, purity, freedom from malice, absence of haughtiness-these, O scion of the Bharata dynasty, are (the alties) of one born destined to have the divine nature.

English Translation of Ramanuja's Sanskrit Commentary

16.3 Grandeur is the ality by virtue of which one cannot be overpowered by the wicked. Forgiveness is freedom from the feelings of antagonism towards others even when they cause injury to oneself. Fortitude is the sense of determination to do ones own duty even under conditions of great danger. Purity is fitness of the body and the mind as prescribd in the scriptures for the performance of sacred deeds. Freedom from hatred is non-interference with others, viz., absence of interference in the actions of others according to their wish. Over-pride (Atimanita) is having unbridled self-esteem; freedom from misplaced pride is meant here. These are the virtues that are found in one who is born for the divine destiny. The destiny associated with the divinities is divine. The divinities are those who are devoted to carry out the ?ndments of the Lord. It is their destiny. It is obedience to the ?ndments of the Lord. The meaning is that these are endowments in those who are born with a tendency or disposition towards them and seek to attain their fulfilment.

Transliteration Bhagavad Gita 16.3

Tejah kshamaa dhritih shauchamadroho naatimaanitaa; Bhavanti sampadam daiveem abhijaatasya bhaarata.

Word Meanings Bhagavad Gita 16.3

śhrī-bhagavān uvācha—the Supreme Divine Personality said; abhayam—fearlessness; sattva-sanśhuddhiḥ—purity of mind; jñāna—knowledge; yoga—spiritual; vyavasthitiḥ—steadfastness; dānam—charity; damaḥ—control of the senses; cha—and; yajñaḥ—performance of sacrifice; cha—and; svādhyāyaḥ—study of sacred books; tapaḥ—austerity; ārjavam—straightforwardness; ahinsā—non-violence; satyam—truthfulness; akrodhaḥ—absence of anger; tyāgaḥ—renunciation; śhāntiḥ—peacefulness; apaiśhunam—restraint from fault-finding; dayā—compassion; bhūteṣhu—toward all living beings; aloluptvam—absence of covetousness; mārdavam—gentleness; hrīḥ—modesty; achāpalam—lack of fickleness; tejaḥ—vigor; kṣhamā—forgiveness; dhṛitiḥ—fortitude; śhaucham—cleanliness; adrohaḥ—bearing enmity toward none; na—not; ati-mānitā—absence of vanity; bhavanti—are; sampadam—qualities; daivīm—godly; abhijātasya—of those endowed with; bhārata—scion of Bharat