Share this page on following platforms.
Download Bhagwad Gita 13.6 Download BG 13.6 as Image

⮪ BG 13.5 Bhagwad Gita Sanskrit Translation BG 13.7⮫

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 13 Verse 6

भगवद् गीता अध्याय 13 श्लोक 6

महाभूतान्यहङ्कारो बुद्धिरव्यक्तमेव च।
इन्द्रियाणि दशैकं च पञ्च चेन्द्रियगोचराः।।13.6।।

हिंदी अनुवाद - स्वामी रामसुख दास जी ( भगवद् गीता 13.6)

।।13.6।।मूल प्रकृति? समष्टि बुद्धि (महत्तत्त्व)? समष्टि अहंकार? पाँच महाभूत और दस इन्द्रियाँ? एक मन तथा पाँचों इन्द्रियोंके पाँच विषय ( -- यह चौबीस तत्त्वोंवाला क्षेत्र है)।

English Translation of Sanskrit Commentary By Sri Shankaracharya's

13.6 Mahabhutani, the great elements: Those elements which are great owing to their pervasion of all midifications, and which are subtle. As for the gross elements, they will be spoken of by the word indriya-gocarah, objects of the senses. Ahankarah, egoism, which is the source of the great elements and consists of the idea of I. Buddhih, intellect, the source of egoism and consisting of the faculty of judgement; ca, and; its cause, the avyaktam eva, Unmanifest itself, the Undifferentiated, the power of God spoken of in, Maya of Mine৷৷.difficult to cross (7.14). The word eva (itself) is used for singling out Prakrti (Nature). The Prakrti divided eightfold [The undifferentiated (avyakta), mahat, egoism and the five uncompunded subtle elements] is this much alone. The word ca (and) is used for joining the various categories. The dasa, ten; indriyani, organs : The five, organs ear etc., which are called sense-organs since they produce perception, and the (other) five organs-organ of speech, hands, etc.-which are called motor-organs since they accomplish actions. They are ten. Ekam ca, and the one-which is that?-the mind, the eleventh, possessed of the power of thinking etc. (see fn. on p. 173). Ca, and; the panca, five; indriya-gacarah, objects of the senses-such objects as sound etc. The followers of the Sankhya call these which are such the twenty-four categories. Thereafter, the Lord now says that even those alities which the Vaisesikas speak of as the attributes of the sould are certainly the attributes of the field, but not of the Knower of the field:

English Translation of Commentary - Dr. S. Sankaranarayan

13.6 See Comment under 13.7

English Translation of Ramanuja's Sanskrit Commentary

13.6 - 13.7 The great elements, the Ahankara, the Buddhi and the Avyakta are substances that originate the Ksetra. The great elements are the earth, water, fire, air and ether. The Ahankara here means Bhutadi (primeval element). The Buddhi is called Mahat; the Avyakta is known as the Prakrti. The ten senses and the one and the five objects of senses are principles depending on the Ksetra. The five sensorial organs are ear, skin, eye, tongue and nose. The five motor organs are speech, hands, feet, and the organs of excretion and reproduction. These are the ten senses. The Manas is the additional one moe. The objects of the senses are five - sound, touch, form, taste and smell. Desire, hatred, pleasure and pain, being the transformation of the Ksetra, are said to be the modifications of the Ksetra. Though desire, hatred, pleasure and pain are the alities of the self, yet they originate from the association of the self with the Ksetra. Sri Krsna will state that they are the attributes of the self; In the experience of pleasure and pain, the self is said to be the cause (13.20). The combination of elements serves as the support (Adhrti) of the intelligent self. As such, the word Adhrti means substratum. The combination of material elements has arisen as the substratum for the self to experience pleasure and pain, and for aciring worldly experiences and the final release. The combination of elements is formed by substances commencing from the Prakrti and ending with the earth; it is the basis of senses which are endowed with the modifications of the nature of desire, hatred, pleasure and pain. These form a Sanghata or an association of elements. It serves as the basis of the experience of pleasure and pain by the individual self. This is what is said of the Ksetra. This Ksetra has been explained briefly with its modifications and effects. Now certain alities, the effects of the Ksetra, worthy of being acired as being the means for securing the knowledge of the self, are enumerated.

Transliteration Bhagavad Gita 13.6

Mahaabhootaanyahankaaro buddhiravyaktameva cha; Indriyaani dashaikam cha pancha chendriyagocharaah.

Word Meanings Bhagavad Gita 13.6

mahā-bhūtāni—the (five) great elements; ahankāraḥ—the ego; buddhiḥ—the intellect; avyaktam—the unmanifested primordial matter; eva—indeed; cha—and; indriyāṇi—the senses; daśha-ekam—eleven; cha—and; pañcha—five; cha—and; indriya-go-charāḥ—the (five) objects of the senses;